Parish Council boundary review consultation

Shropshire Council is undertaking Community Governance Reviews, focusing on five areas within Shropshire.

  • Shrewsbury Parish and adjacent Parishes
  • Albrighton and Donington Parishes
  • Ludlow and Ludford Parishes
  • Baschurch and Bomere Heath (Pimhill) Parishes
  • Market Drayton and Adderley Parishes

Five documents have been prepared setting out the Terms of Reference for each area. These explain that the first consultation will start on the 15 December 2023, concluding on the 26 January 2024. Comments and proposals are very much welcomed and contact details are included below.

After considering the consultation responses, the Council will prepare proposed boundary changes, which will be consulted upon in the spring of 2024. 

These five areas have been prioritised, as they are impacted by the recent Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) revised Shropshire Council electoral divisions. Shropshire Council has been advised that the draft legislation to implement the LGBCE revised Shropshire electoral divisions has been laid in parliament (11 December 2023). The Shropshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2024 should be made in February 2024, assuming the Parliamentary process goes smoothly. This means the new electoral division boundaries will be used in the 2025 local elections.

A review of polling districts will then take place, in time for the next elections in 2025. The need for further community governance reviews will be considered by Shropshire Councillors after the next election.

An interactive map is included on this webpage to aid consultees in their responses.

How to contact us

If you'd like to submit a written representation regarding this review, please address it to: 
Democratic Services, 
Shropshire Council, 
SY2 6ND 
Alternatively, your submission can be emailed to:
If you require any further information or need clarification on the review process, please contact: 
Graham White 
Tim Ward 
Committee Officer